Intro

Intro

This year has been a difficult one for all of us. Many things are very different from what we are used to, so it was all the more important for us to have our Bimovie Women’s Film Festival take place – despite all difficulties.

Unfortunately, cinemas are affected by the government’s decision to impose a partial lockdown and therefore will have to close their doors starting on 2nd of November. In case you’ve already bought cinema tickets, don’t worry, they will be automatically reimbursed by the cinema – just be patient, as the ticket provider services about 2500 cinemas.

For reasons mentioned above, our festival will EXCLUSIVELY take place ONLINE this year. Our online ticket sale will start, as soon as the streaming service has been uploaded and activated – this will be the case no later than the day our festival kicks off on 5th of November at 6:30 p.m. sharp.

You can choose between single tickets, single tickets with a solidarity contribution for the Neues Maxim cinema and a festival pass (payment options are credit card and PayPal). Tickets and the festival pass are available on the respective film description pages. 

Any further program changes will be published on our website. Please check our website or go to www.filmstadt-muenchen.de for all information regarding the ONLINE presentation of our films.

Please be aware that physical distancing rules are in effect and that you are required to wear masks everywhere, except when seated inside the cinema. We appreciate our guests coming in groups (in compliance with the current Coronavirus rules), so that we can use our limited seating capacities as effectively as possible.

The Coronavirus has greatly impacted the world of cinema, at least for the time being. Many of this year’s new films went unnoticed amid the restrictions. With our Women’s Film Festival we want to do our part in making sure that at least a few of those wonderful films get the attention they deserve.

Our opening film Uferfrauen is a charming and profound film by Barbara Wallbraun about lesbian life and love in the German Democratic Republic – a film that won’t make you laugh, but is yet powerful and encouraging. Next in line is Heavy Craving, the spectacular debut of director Pei-Ju Hsieh from Taiwan who questions social body standards by means of the dramedy genre. The Australian film Coming Back Out Ball Movie documents the organizing of a festive ball event for queer elderlies. This film is a great plea for more integration and appreciation of older LGBTIQ* people and their political achievements for the queer community. In Speak Up, black women from Europe raise their voices to define a black female perspective from their point of view. The short film Portrait of my Mother, which tells the story of abuse and coming to terms with it, is the supporting film for Overseas, which takes a brutally honest look at the calamity of modern slavery. The solidarity among the women is a spark of hope within the sinister parallel world portrayed in this film. In Mouthpiece by Patricia Rozema, the protagonist Cassandra is tasked with organizing her mother’s funeral within 48 hours, throwing her into an identity crisis that escalates in increasingly absurd ways – an atmospheric drama about death that defies all genre conventions. Leonie Krippendorff’s Kokon is a beautiful coming of age drama about young love and hot summer days in Berlin. Last but not least, in Walchensee Forever, director Janna Ji Wonders describes the story of her family from the perspective of the women, each of whom braves the patriarchal structures of their time in their own way.

We hope you will enjoy this week of exciting films and inspiring discussions.
Your “Geierwallis”
Moana Bauer, Anne Daschkey, Monique Farrar, Julia Fuhr Mann, Harriet Hoefer, Karin Hofmann, Annette Müller.

 
 

Many thanks to:

Katrin Gebhardt-Seele, Christiane Böhm, Anne Harder, Martina Dobrusky, Regine Stoiber, Martina Sedlmeier, Karin U. Soika, Miriam Weichselsdorfer, Monika Haas, Ulla Weßler, Dorothee Denzler, Sabine Eisenhauer, Barbara Röser, Ina Wohlmann, Joachim Post from lsf Hamburg, team QFFM, Conny Weber, team Werkstattkino, team daneben, Sophie Ruhlig, artechock filmmagazin, die Filmlöwin and all film makers

Vorab

Vorab

In diesem für alle schwierigen Jahr 2020 ist vieles anders als sonst. Gerade deswegen war es uns ein besonderes Anliegen, die Frauenfilmreihe Bimovie 26 allen Widrigkeiten zum Trotz wie gewohnt durchzuführen.

Leider sind auch die Kinos von den beschlossenen Lockdown-Maßnahmen der Regierung betroffen und müssen somit  im November ihre Tore schließen. Bereits gekaufte Kino-Tickets werden automatisch vom Kino erstattet – bitte habt aber etwas Geduld, da der Ticketanbieter ca. 2500 Kinos betreut.

Unser Festival wird aus besagten Gründen dieses Jahr AUSSCHLIEßLICH online stattfinden. Der Online-Ticketkauf beginnt, sobald die Streamingangebote upgeloadet und freigeschaltet sind –  dies wird spätestens zum Festivalbeginn, am 5.11.2020 um 18:30h, der Fall sein.

Ihr könnt Einzeltickets oder einen Festivalpass, jeweils auch möglich mit Solibeitrag für das Neue Maxim, erwerben (Bezahlmöglichkeit ist Kreditkarte oder Paypal). Die jeweiligen Karten/den Festivalpass gibt es auf den Filmbeschreibungsseiten zu kaufen.

Sollte es zu weiteren Änderungen kommen, werden wir diese auf unserer Website veröffentlichen. Wir empfehlen euch daher, immer mal wieder auf unserer Website und unserer Facebookseite vorbeizuschauen, um auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben.

Corona hat das Kino zumindest für den Moment nachhaltig verändert. Viele Filme sind dieses Jahr aufgrund der Maßnahmen untergegangen. Mit unserer Frauenfilmreihe wollen wir dazu beitragen, dass zumindest eine kleine Auswahl an wunderbaren Filmen die Aufmerksamkeit bekommt, die sie verdient.

Los geht’s mit den Uferfrauen, einem charmanten und tiefschürfenden Film von Barbara Wallbraun über lesbisches L(i)eben in der DDR – beileibe nicht lustig, aber kraftvoll und ermutigend! Gefolgt von Heavy Craving, dem fulminanten Debütfilm von Pei-Ju Hsieh aus Taiwan. Der Film versieht female troubles mit einem Kommentar aus Südostasien. Die Entstehung eines Festballs für queere Senior*innen dokumentiert Coming Back Out Ball Movie aus Australien. Ein tolles Plädoyer für mehr Integration und Wertschätzung von LGBTIQ* Senioren und ihren queerpolitischen Errungenschaften! In Speak Up erheben europäische Schwarze Frauen ihre Stimme und definieren selbst, was eine schwarze weibliche Perspektive ausmacht! Der Kurzfilm Portrait of my Mother erzählt die Verarbeitung eines Missbrauchs und läuft als Vorfilm zu Overseas, der einen schonungslosen Blick auf die Misere moderner Sklaverei wirft. Dank der Solidarität der Frauen* untereinander wohnt dem Film ein kleiner Hoffnungsschimmer inmitten dieser düsteren Parallelwelt inne. In Mouthpiece von Patricia Rozema hat die Protagonistin Cassandra 48 Stunden Zeit, um das Begräbnis ihrer Mutter zu organisieren. Dabei gerät sie in eine immer absurder eskalierende Sinnkrise – ein atmosphärisches Drama über den Tod jenseits aller Genrekonventionen. Kokon(muss leider entfallen): Während ihre Clique mit ihren Smartphones abhängt, verliebt sich die 14-jährige Nora in die wilde Romy. Zusammen machen sie den Park zum Dschungel und das Freibad zum Meer. Achtung! Das Coming-of-Age Drama läuft nur im Kino. Last but not least schildert Regisseurin Janna Ji Wonders in Walchensee Forever die Geschichte ihrer Familie aus Sicht der Frauen, von denen jede auf ihre Weise den patriarchalen Strukturen ihrer Zeit trotzt.

Eine spannende Kinowoche und anregende Diskussionen wünschen Euch / Ihnen Die Geierwallis
Moana Bauer, Anne Daschkey, Monique Farrar, Julia Fuhr Mann, Harriet Hoefer, Karin Hofmann, Annette Müller.

Heißen Dank an:

Katrin Gebhardt-Seele, Christiane Böhm, Anne Harder, Martina Dobrusky, Regine Stoiber, Martina Sedlmeier, Karin U. Soika, Miriam Weichselsdorfer, Monika Haas, Dorothee Denzler, Sabine Eisenhauer, Barbara Röser, Joachim Post vom lsf Hamburg, das Team vom QFFM, Conny Weber, das Team vom Werkstattkino, das Team vom daneben, Maike-Sophie Mittelstädt, artechock filmmagazin, die Filmlöwin und alle Filmemacher*innen